2022 Alberta Book Publishing Awards winners announced


The Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) announced the winners of the 2022 Alberta Book Publishing Awards during a live gala at the Hotel Arts in Calgary on September 16.

Among the winners were The Prairie Chicken Dance Tour by Dawn Dumont for Business Fiction Book of the Year and Impact: women write after a concussion, edited by ED Morin and Jane Cawthorne, for Non-Fiction Business Book of the Year. The new Douglas Barbour Award for Speculative Fiction has been awarded to Water: Selkies, mermaids and sea monsters edited by Rhonda Parrish, and there was an unusual link for the design of the book (Coconut by Nisha Patel and Walk to Canterbury: A Son’s Pilgrimage by Ken Haigh).

Edmonton-based Laberinto Press was named Emerging Publisher of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Carol Holmes, former executive director of the Writers Guild of Alberta, for her longtime contribution to Alberta’s literary and publishing community.

The full list of winners follows:

learning book of the year

  • Introduction to early childhood education and care: an intercultural perspective by Carole Massing and Mary Lynne Matheson (brush education)

Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Business Fiction Book of the Year

Douglas Barbour Prize for Speculative Fiction

  • Water: Selkies, mermaids and sea monsters edited by Rhonda Parrish (Tyche Books)

Robert Kroetsch Prize for Poetry

Graphic Novel of the Year

Children’s and Young Adult Book of the Year

Scholarly and Academic Book of the Year

Regional Book of the Year

book cover design

  • The party is here by Georgina Beaty; design by Natalie Olsen/Kisscut Design (Freehand Books)

book illustration

book design

Emerging Publisher of the Year

  • Laberinto Press, Publisher Luciana Erregue Sacchi

Lifetime Achievement Award


Comments are closed.